The Hibachi Experience

As much as I hate to admit it, I think that my favorite restaurant of all time is Bisuteki Japanese Steakhouse. I went there for my first time around 10 years ago and I keep going back several times a year for more and more.

Bisuteki is a hibachi style dining experience where chefs cook and perform entertaining tricks while preparing your meal on the flat grilltop at every table.

Visit YouTube for a video of a hibachi chef in action.

Anyway, Bisuteki is a great restaurant. The food is always excellent and the portions they give are enough for two meals. I usually get the hibachi shrimp complete dinner. Every dinner comes with oriental soup, house salad with ginger dressing, white rice, vegetables, shrimp appetizer and green tea and ice cream. The meals cost from about $16 – $25 for a filet mignon and shrimp combo dinner, which is a little expensive, but not for all of the food you get. And you get a show too.

I am such a big fan of Bisuteki and their ginger dressing especially that I recreated the recipe from several versions that I found online until I got it almost exactly right. Ginger dressing is served at a lot of Japanese and asian restaurants. Well, here it is…

Japanese Ginger Dressing

  • 1/2 cup onion, minced
  • 1/2 cup peanut oil
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ginger, minced
  • 2 tablespoons celery, minced
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 4 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend on high speed for about 30 seconds or until all of the ginger is well pureed.
  • If you have never dined at Bisuteki, you are missing out on a lot of fun and really good food. Check out their website!

    3 Responses to “The Hibachi Experience”

    1. Do you have a recipe for Bisuteki’s Shrimp ?

      • jenn21487 Says:

        Sorry for the very delayed response. I have not been attentive to my site in the past. All i know is that they use peanut oil in cooking I believe. I know they throw some of their ginger butter in there and soy sauce while cooking! I love it too!~

    2. Thank You So much for that post!!! I love going to Bisuteki’s and I love that ginger dressing, every time I go I always buy a container of the dressing before I leave to hold me over untill next time. I cannot wait to try that recipe you posted!!!

    Leave a comment